Krastorio 2

An overhaul mod focusing on end-game technologies and moderately increased complexity.

Overhaul
a month ago
0.18 - 1.1
Transportation Logistics Trains Combat Armor Mining Fluids Logistic network Manufacturing Power Storage

g Comment on 0.9.12 ( Removal of Sand/Sulfur Matter Recipes)

4 years ago
(updated 4 years ago)

Hi,
I really appreciate your effort to make K2 a balanced and fun game (it is already fun, and I have no real experience with balancing)

I like 99.99% of the stuff you are doing in K2, but I really don't like the removal of Sand & Sulfur to matter.

While I agree with the removal of "matter loops", i strongly dislike "void crushing" as it feels like a bad thing to do with valuable resources....
With, for example Immersite Crushing creating excess Sand, I have to address excess sand by either creating a priority distribution chain or by filtering the sand to crystals which can then be "mattered" again.

Whith K2 simplifying a lot of the processes in relation to K1 it seems weird to have to do sand filtration again just to convert sand to matter again.
( If it would be a gameplay decision i would be fine with it, but just as a balancing/exploit fix it seems wrong)

Wouldn't the more reasonable solution be to just turn down the conversion-rate of sand by like 10x to make it inefficient by itself, but to have at least some use for disposal ?

(Argumentation is mostly focused on sand, but base reasoning also applies to sulfur)

Keep up the good work !

Kind regards,
Nicolas

4 years ago

I would agree with Karoschel. At the later stage of the game, I always have too much excess sand from immersite production. I don't think it's good game design to force you to void/crush.
Another recommendation would be to not produce extra sand OR create recipe for landfill that takes sand. That's what I usually do with uranium processing to just convert it all into landfill as it does not fill up that quickly and you always need it.

4 years ago