Realistic Reactors

Add realistic nuclear reactors including a breeder reactor type and cooling tower. The reactors must be controlled through integrated circuit interface signals. The thermal energy output is dynamic and depends on reactor core temperature. The reactors require sophisticated designs of their cooling system and heat-pipe network. If the operational conditions aren't met then a reactor core meltdown with dangerous consequences occurs

Content
19 days ago
0.16 - 1.1
Power

i [moreinfo] Idea: Control rods?

3 years ago

I'm not a nuclear engineer but as I understand it, there are control rods which can be raised and lowered to different degrees, but this mod only has full on/off with a timer. As I understand it, totally inserting the control rods 100% is not the same as SCRAMing the reactor.

So I think there ought to be 3 signals

"start" - begins the reaction, requiring electricity
"scram" - end the reaction, requires the cooling tower
"control rods" - let you better balance the reactor WITHOUT shutting it down and wasting fuel.

If you really wanted to get crazy you could break up the nuclear reactor into 2 components- a pile and a rod-inserter. It would be rad if you had a rod-inserter that connected to the nuclear-pile, that can push/pull graphite control rods. Of course, these rods would be controlled by signals and it gives the opportunity to create a whole new ingredient and entities.

max2344 ☆
3 years ago

I think I understand what you mean. The current logic will mostly remain, however we're going to introduce another tier which will have control characteristics close to what you describe. Although this part is still in development, and considered as future plans.

Regards,

-max23344

3 years ago

Is this documented somewhere? I'm definitely interested in your future plans. I have some of my own ideas: https://github.com/adamwong246/chernobyl

max2344 ☆
3 years ago
(updated 3 years ago)