Bob's Power

Adds new power structures.

Content
a month ago
0.13 - 1.1
Power

g Fluid burning boiler vs heat source

3 years ago

Is a fluid burning boiler more efficient than the fluid burning heat source with a heat exchanger? And what fluid is the most efficient to use? (I did some math and it seems like petroleum gas but idk I'm not good at math)

3 years ago
(updated 3 years ago)

Petroleum Gas is actually a fairly good one to use.
However, Oil is limited (because it needs specific nodes) where Hydrazine is unlimited as it is made from Air and Water (Which is unlimited in that you just need a lake or something, not specific nodes that reduce in speed) only (split Water into Hydrogen and Oxygen, and Air into Oxygen and Nitrogen, and then its just a complex chain of combining the two)
Pollution is also a factor, Oil products do tend to create more pollution than some alternatives. A combination of different fuels would also work, for example, you're better off converting light oil into Liquid fuel, rather than petroleum gas, ending up in using a combination of Liquid fuel and Petroleum gas.

Fluid burning Boilers (and Fluid burning generators) burn the fuel directly for a 100% efficiency.
The Fluid burning heat sources on the other hand offer Neighbour bonus, similar to a nuclear reactor. On top of this, because they have pass-through pipes, you can actually make a solid grid, so most heat sources can have a bonus on all sides. They do have different bonuses per tier, but if you assume to use the MK3, that has a 100% bonus, meaning you can pull 500% energy from the fuel. (though that drops to 400% on a side heat source and 300% on a corner)
Just keep in mind that you can't mix fluids, so if you do opt to run more than one type of fuel, you'll need a different block of heat sources for each type. (they can still be linked with heat pipes, just not fluid pipes)