Advanced Combinator

by zomis

Make combinators great again! One combinator to rule them all.

Content
3 years ago
0.16 - 1.1
Circuit network

i UX Suggestion re: Unrecoverable Errors

3 years ago

Hey,

First of all, thanks for putting this together and continuing to work on it. I'm a programmer as well and I know how much time and effort these projects require. The fact you do all of that for free is really amazing.

I love the idea of this mod and I was playing around with it to see if it fits my needs. Like other users have mentioned, there are some issues with these "unrecoverable errors" which cause the entire game to crash. I just wanted to post and mention that this is kind of a deal-breaker for me, as well as (I suspect) many others. If it's at all possible I wanted to suggest that you to put in some kind of global try/catch to detect and avoid these crashes before they occur. Basically, if a user tries to apply some new formula that causes an error, the mod should revert the combinator to its prior state (or leave it unchanged), give the user some kind of "general error" message, and close the dialogs.

Right now it takes me about 1 minute to load all of my mods, so along with save data and UI interaction I'm looking at 1-2 minutes of turnaround per mistake while I'm configuring one of these combinators. That can easily result in 30+ minutes of loading screens if I'm trying to setup something complex, or even if I'm just trying to learn the basics. Most of the time this will drive new users away immediately.

Like I said before, I really do appreciate all the work you're putting in here, for free, so I hope this comes off as constructive criticism and not just a complaint. I've never worked with Factorio mods before but I'm going to take a look at your github and see if I can make a pull request to address this change I'm suggesting. Hopefully I can contribute, but I wanted to give you this feedback in case you're interested.