Nuclear Rebalance

by Kingdud

Improves UPS with nuclear power by completely overhauling how nuclear energy is produced. Material costs are in-line with vanilla, build complexity is meant to help foster interest in how nuclear actually works.

Content
2 years ago
0.17 - 1.1
Power

i Graphics

2 years ago
(updated 2 years ago)

I'm sure I don't need to comment on the looks of this structure. I do dabble with texturing/graphics and such, but I've not messed with Factorio, so I presume it's just standard image format sprites. If you'd like, I can try and come up with something to make it look a bit nicer.

To add, I really like the amount of effort you went into with all your research, and the mod is great. It just feels, to me, like the amount of effort put into finally building the structure, the appearance should have a bit more rewarding aesthetic to it.

2 years ago

I have made no secret that the graphics suck. I know they aren't great. I'm not an artist and it took me at least 40 hours to get the buildings to look the way they do now, and another 20 hours to make all the icon art. It was the worst part of making this mod. I say this in the sense of "I'm so bad at it that it took me forever to get anything done." As for how to make art, the way that the devs make the art is in Blender. They create a 3D structure, set the camera angle/offest, and then render the .png at the end. The artwork is all PNGs. If you want to have an animation, you need to make a giant PNG where each frame of the animation is in a grid in a single PNG. You can look in the factorio install directory (example: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Factorio\data\base\graphics\entity\assembling-machine-3) to see what I mean.