MicroController

by ljdp

Program circuit network logic using FAL, a Factorio Assembly Language.

Content
5 years ago
Circuit network

g Awesome mod! A couple of questions and usability comments.

5 years ago
(updated 5 years ago)

Firstly, thanks so much for this amazing mod. You've done a really professional job. Immediately before I started playing Factorio I bought and played most of the Zachtronics bundle, so I feel right at home in this. I love how you've even done the "photocopied + scribbled-on" manual :) It's a great homage to TIS-100 and Shenzen IO. And a perfect fit for Factorio - in fact I'd already thought while playing that I wished circuits had more sophistication, like the Zachtronics games.

I was hoping to check a couple of things:

Am I right in thinking that a MicroController does not automatically update for changed input, like vanilla combinators do? I have to have a program looping forever if I want it to reflect changes in input?

I was wondering if there was any way to have the MC run a program 'on input change', like vanilla combinators do. EDIT: having played with it more, I'm pretty sure there is not. Which is fine, they just need to loop when they need to constantly check for changed input and reflect that in their output.

Secondly, is there any way to output multiple signals from a MicroController?
EDIT: yes of course there is, that's what FRAMM is for of course. FRAMMs are basically Constant Combinators, but controlled and manipulated by an MC. I somehow failed to noticed that the FRAMMs were setting output signals - sorry!

Finally, a couple of minor usability comments: