Factorissimo2

Factorissimo adds factory buildings to Factorio. Place them down, walk in, build your factories inside!

Content
2 years ago
0.14 - 1.1

b Game freezes randomly

2 years ago

This is from reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/factorio/comments/ri3f5r/help_modded_game_keeps_freezing_seemingly_at/
Just download the save and wait ~3min (use /c game.speed=10 fo faster results)

There seems to be some kind of endless loop in the "update connections" logic.

In connctions.lua, the line
new_slot[1+#new_slot] = conn
is related to the freeze. Remove the line, and it doesn't freeze anymore.

I imagine the problem is that current_slot is equal to new_slot, and the loop then checks the newly added connection, adding it again and again and again.

2 years ago

Hi, I'm that reddit poster! Can confirm, removing Factorissimo fixes the described issue. I'd be glad to do any testing you'd like to get this working again, I really like using this mod. I'm a web developer with limited lua knowledge, so I shouldn't be completely helpless

2 years ago
(updated 2 years ago)

Hey there, I've made a quick attempt to find the issue, no time for more detailed inspection. The line DarkShadow44 pointed out in connections.lua is definitely not the problem, as this is a central essential line in connection logic, making sure all factory connections keep moving items and fluids around. Removing it will disable every existing factory connection, bringing your factory to a standstill (though it still gets power) and indirectly preventing the conditions for whatever the issue actually is, which can likely even be a bug in another mod.

Without further interaction, the game freezes on or immediately after tick 7371190. In fact, if the connection logic is disabled after e.g. tick 7371000, the game will still freeze.