Brave New World

by canidae

RTS-like scenario for Factorio. Player character is removed, all work must be done by bots

Scenarios
2 years ago
0.16 - 1.1

b Changes for ribbon worlds (to walk to the border): FIXED

3 years ago
(updated 3 years ago)

Hey,

first thanks for maintaining this scenario. It's a lot of fun for me to play currently. It's my first time with BNW and I started a ribbon map (height is limited)
Unfortunately you're not able to enter the top and bottom chunks, it keeps teleporting you back. And since you're not able to discover more chunks N/S there is no way around.
Additionally, cu can enter with a vehicle (train/car) and if you get out of the vehicle while in the top/bottom chunk you're stuck forever (you only can teleport yourself if entering the vehicle or another one).

GOOD NEWS: I manged to change the control.lua file in the save file so that's not longer an issue.

In lines 495-497 there's the charted function, if you change the line 496 to the following, you can walk north/south to the border:

return player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x - 2, y - 1}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x - 2, y + 1}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x + 2, y - 1}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x + 2, y + 1})

[How to change or update the control.lua is written on the mod's desciprition page here in the mod portal.]

Have fun!

3 years ago

addition:
change needed for vertical ribbon maps (limited width):

return player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x - 1, y - 2}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x - 1, y + 2}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x + 1, y - 2}) and player.force.is_chunk_charted(player.surface, {x + 1, y + 2})

[not tested but I'm confident]

2 years ago